ATHLETICS COMMITTEE

(Following the Academic Affairs Committee) Friday, February 25, 2011 Board of Supervisors' Meeting Room 2nd Floor, J.S. Clark Administration Building Southern University and A & M College at Baton Rouge

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Adoption of the Agenda
- 4. Public Comments
- 5. Informational Item(s)
 - A. Resolution from the Academic Council regarding SUBR Intercollegiate Athletics Programs and Activities
- 6. Other Business
- 7. Adjournment

MEMBERS

Atty. Patrick D. Magee - Chair; Mr. Achilles Williams-Vice Chair; Mr. Patrick W. Bell, Mr. Richard J. Caiton, Mr. Myron K. Lawson, Mr. Randale Scott, Mr. Darren G. Mire – Ex-Officio



RESOLUTION

The Academic Council of Southern University and A&M College, with a clear understanding of and appreciation for the financial difficulties facing Southern University and A&M College in Baton Rouge (SUBR) and with cognizance that SUBR is required to provide in excess of \$1million to address budgetary deficits emanating from costs associated with intercollegiate athletics, resolves that a major review of the revenue-generating capacity for athletic programs, including the Bayou Classic, be undertaken. The Academic Council further resolves that SUBR be the decision-maker pertaining to all athletic activities involving its student-athletes.

Proposed July 7, 2010 Adopted January 19, 2011

Dean Donald Andrews, Business Dean William Arp, III, Nelson Mandela Dean Barbara Carpenter, Int'I & Continuing Education Dean Dana Carpenter, University College Director Kim Chavis, The Academy of Assessment, Learning and Outcomes Lieutenant Colonel James Clark, Army ROTC Captain Gerard Hall, Naval ROTC Dean Dewitt Jones, Agriculture Interim Dean Ella Kelley, Honors College Interim Registrar D'Andrea Lee Director Tamara Montgomery, Career Services Assistant V.C. Michelle Hill, Enrollment Mgmt Associate Provost Jacqueline H.-Matthews, O.A.S.A. Interim Dean Joseph Meyinsse, Graduate School Dean Robert Miller, Sciences Dean Habib Mohamadian, Engineering Dean Joyce O'Rourke, Arts & Humanities Dean Verjanis Peoples, Education Dean Emma Perry, Library Director Carolyn Person, Center for Effective E-Teaching and E-Learning Dean Janet Rami, Nursing President Sudhir Trivedi, Faculty Senate Dean Lonnie Wilkinson, Architecture Interim Assistant V.C. Julie Wessinger, Student Affairs Assistant Provost Cecilia Golden, O.A.S.A. Executive V.C. & Provost Mwalimu Shujaa, O.A.S.A.